Marriage Licenses

Application

Duties & Responsibilities of Justice of the Peace
The following is an excerpt from the State of Vermont, Office of the Secretary of State website. There are basically 5 categories of responsibilities for justices of the peace.
  1. They serve as a member of the board of civil authority, which by law is responsible for adding and removing names from the checklist, and for serving collectively as the local election officials at any municipal or state election. As a justice, they also are responsible for delivering absentee ballots to voters at election time.
  2. They have a responsibility in the town's tax appeal process. As a member of the board of civil authority, they sit to hear the tax appeals of citizens aggrieved by the final decision of the listers. They also sit as a member of the municipal board for abatement of taxes.
  3. They may solemnize marriages in Vermont.
  4. They may administer oaths in all cases where an oath is required, unless the law makes a different provision.
  5. Finally, they may serve as a magistrate when so commissioned by the supreme court.
For more information, check out the Vermont Justice of the Peace Guide (PDF), published by Deborah L. Markowitz, Secretary of State, 2010.
Justices of the Peace
As Justices of the Peace run for election with a political party designation on the ballot, parties are indicated next to the name below by a letter indicating Democratic, Independent, Progressive, or Republican.
Mary Alice Bisbee (D)
3 Prospect Avenue
Apartment 308
Montpelier, VT 05602
Phone: 802-223-8140
maryalicebisbee@gmail.com

Cary Brown (D)
22 St. Paul Street
Montpelier, VT 05602
Phone: 802-229-6691
cbrown9904@gmail.com

Barney Bloom (D)
25 Summer Street
Montpelier, VT 05602
Phone: 802-229-5049
Phone: 802-229-4145 
darryl.bloom@gmail.com

Kim Cheney (D)
4 Towne Street
Montpelier, VT 05602
Phone: 802-223-3181
kcheney@cbs-law.com

Page Guertin (D)
459 North Street
Montpelier, VT 05602
Phone: 802-461-7949
pguertin@myfairpoint.net

Marge Power (P)
67 Independence Green
Montpelier, VT 05602
Phone: 
mpower9@yahoo.com

Mary Hooper (D)
882 North Street
Montpelier, VT 05602
Phone: 802-223-2892 
maryshooper@gmail.com

Valerie Lewis (D)
1 Sabin Street
Montpelier, VT 05602
Phone: 802-223-8902
valerie.lewis2@myfairpoint.net

Michael Badamo (D)
81 E State Street
Montpelier, VT 05602
Phone: 802-229-0185
MICHAELBADAMO@GMAIL.COM

John J. McCullough (D)
20 Towne Street
Montpelier, VT 05602
Phone: 802-223-5980
Phone: 802-734-3851
mcculloughiii@comcast.net

Daniel Richardson (D)
2 Liberty Street
Montpelier, VT 05602
Phone: 802-493-1802
 DRichardson@tgrvt.com

Catherine Simpson (D)
18 Cliff Street
Montpelier, VT 05602
Phone: 802-223-2632
COSIMPSON@MYFAIRPOINT.NET

Nancy Sherman (D)
20 College Street
Montpelier, VT 05602
Phone: 802-223-2632

Ron Wild (D)
5 St. Paul Street
Montpelier, VT 05602
Phone: 512-342-1824
ronhwmail@gmail.com

Philip H. Zalinger, Jr. (D)
12 Merrill Terrace
Montpelier, VT 05602
Phone: 802-223-1000
Phone: 802-223-5139 
Pzalinger@zclpc.com